jacket.jpg.pl.jpg

  Book discussion

The Woman in the Window by

Monday, November 18th at 7:00 p.m.

For readers of Gillian Flynn and Tana French comes one of the decade’s most anticipated debuts: a twisty, powerful Hitchcockian thriller about an agoraphobic woman who believes she witnessed a crime in a neighboring house.

 It isn’t paranoia if it’s really happening ...

Anna Fox lives alone—a recluse in her New York City home, unable to venture outside. She spends her day drinking wine (maybe too much), watching old movies, recalling happier times . . . and spying on her neighbors. Then the Russells move into the house across the way: a father, a mother, their teenage son. The perfect family. But when Anna, gazing out her window one night, sees something she shouldn’t, her world begins to crumble—and its shocking secrets are laid bare. What is real? What is imagined? Who is in danger? Who is in control? In this diabolically gripping thriller, no one—and nothing—is what it seems.

Twisty and powerful, ingenious and moving, The Woman in the Window is a smart, sophisticated novel of psychological suspense that recalls the best of Hitchcock.

If you are interested in participating in the discussion and need a copy of the book, please contact us at 872.2927 and we’ll save a copy for you.   

booksale.png

A book sale will be held in the multi-purpose rooms of the library on Friday, October 18th (10:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.) and Saturday, October 19th (10:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.) A special pre-sale for anyone who joins the Friends of the Broken Bow Public Library will be held on Thursday, October 17th from 5-8:00 p.m. (Ask us about the Friends membership brochure.)
We will be accepting donations of books, audio books on CD, and DVDs from October 15th until 3:00 p.m. on the 17th. Sorry, but we cannot accept encyclopedia sets, magazines, old textbooks, Reader’s Digest condensed books, or materials in poor condition.
Please ask any staff for more information about the book sale or joining the Friends.

huskers.jpg

“Travels Through Cornhusker History” - Tuesday Nov. 5th @ 6:30
Join Dr. Jim Sherwood, author of Nebraska Football: The Coaches, The Players, The Experience as he takes us back to the pre-Devaney years of Nebraska football (1890-1960). His program is sponsored by the Broken Bow Library Foundation. Mark your calendars and plan to be at the library that evening to learn more about the proud tradition of Nebraska football!

Brown-Butter-Chocolate-Chip-Cookies-11.jpg

The Great Cookie Contest Tuesday, October 22nd 5:30-6:30
October is National Cookie Month and once again, we are having a party and a contest! Here’s how the contest works:
-Sign up at the library you are interest in competing
-Open to all ages
-Bring two dozen homemade cookies that will be judges and then shared with others—bring by 5:00 that afternoon
-Our judges will be “cookie greats” and will start their difficult judging at 5:30
-Cookies will be shared with everyone after the competition!!
-The winner will receive the 2019 Great Cookie Trophy

literarypumpkins_mcwp-500x262.png

Your entry must be a pumpkin or gourd, but how you make it a book character is up to you (paint, glue, fabric, etc.) Please no carved pumpkins as they rot and attract bugs. Entries that have been carved, hollowed out, or poked will not be accepted. Drop your entry off on Monday, October 28th. All entries will be on display from October 29-31st for public viewing and voting. Winners will be chosen by votes with the following categories: 0-Pre-K; K-5; 6-12, and adult. Winners will be announced on November 1st.

ChairYogalogo-1-364x147.jpg

Chair Yoga @ Your Library

Stretch & Strengthen
-Remain active with safe and simple exercises
-Improve flexibility and core strength
-Reduce low back pain and neck tension
Every Wednesday afternoon from 2-2:45 p.m.
in the library’s multi-purpose room

There is no charge to participate and no registration needed.  Please come in comfortable clothing that allows freedom of movement.


is available with your Broken Bow Public Library card

is available with your Broken Bow Public Library card

Get the detailed information you need to tackle vehicle maintenance and repairs.  Some of Chilton Library's more popular features include:
-Maintenance/specification tables
-Step-by-step service and repair procedures
-Vacuum diagrams
-Wiring diagrams
-Close-up photos and illustrations
-ASE test prep quizzes
Ask us how to gain access


rb.jpg

Don't forget we offer RB Digital!
Just a reminder that we have digital magazines for you to download to your device- Ask at the circulation desk how to access RBdigital.
There are over 100 popular English and Spanish language magazines and this service is available to our library cardholders in good standing.  RB magazines may be read in a Internet browser or on a wide variety of apps available for many mobile devices.  Check on the device that best suits your needs to download your free app.